Daily Archives: April 11, 2007

Liar, liar, pants on fire . . .

My reaction: “You’ve got to be kidding!”

The political fight between Republicans and Democrats heated up as violence in Iraq escalated. U.S. military officials said four Iraqi soldiers were killed and 16 American soldiers wounded in Baghdad in the fiercest fighting since a security crackdown began in February.
                                                                                                          —Reuters

Political fight? In the same breath you mention death and wounds as though you were talking about fries with your burger? There’s no way that someone would do this, right? 

“We are at war. It is irresponsible for the Democratic leadership in Congress to delay for months on end while our troops in combat are waiting,” Bush said. [emphasis mine, same article as above]

From insult to injury. What are these idiots thinking? At the risk of sounding like an irate parent whose son is smack dab in the middle of this “combat” and is having to wait for these irresponsible, self-serving pundits to get off of their blatantly over-compensated derrieres to fund bullets for him to finally be able to use, I’ll readily admit that this is maddening . . . and insane.

I smell Vietnam all over again (yes, I AM that old!).

Perceptions of Time

The queen and I had a meeting last night with two Brasilian pastors. This promised to be a really pivotal meeting for the work in Ubaúna and I was jazzed for it.

It was scheduled for 8:00 p.m. Rather late, perhaps, but no one’s schedule would allow an earlier meeting. At 9:00 p.m. they still had not arrived.

I didn’t have time to have supper because I didn’t want to be late for the meeting (neither had I had breakfast or lunch!). My stomach was making funny noises. A cup of my favorite Brasilian java (Cafe do Ponto 🙂 ) helped, but it sure didn’t stop the funny noises.

At 9:30 I said “enough,” and changed clothes. I was wondering what to eat at this time of night and “encouraging” my queen to assist me in solving my dilemma when the doorbell rung.

Yep! At 9:45 p.m. our guests arrived!

You must understand that by Brasilian time they were right on time. Nothing in Brasil starts at the advertised time. One to two hours after the stated time is considered “on time.”

The only problem: my body is working on US time and it was almost 10 at night! I’m often in bed BEFORE that time. Sheesh . . .

Of course the meeting went on til almost midnight. Of course I had to be up by 5:30 a.m. for a Wednesday prayer group meeting. Of course I was still hungry and would go to bed that way.

Was it worth it? Yep!

But I’m still hungry . . .