Worship, as in, lost in

Some folks are connoisseurs of fine wine. Some have developed exquisite tastes in fine cuisine. Still others are aficionados of art or music.

I’ve discovered that I’m enchanted and enthralled by worship.

I don’t mean “going to church,” singing contemporary “worship” songs or any other tinny imitations that are passed off as some sort of glorious manifestation of awe of the Almighty. I’m not referencing fancy musical productions, rock bands blaring their love of Jesus nor timeless hymns purveyed by 100 piece orchestras.

It was reported to King David that God had prospered Obed-Edom and his entire household because of the Chest of God. So David thought, “I’ll get that blessing for myself,” and went and brought up the Chest of God from the house of Obed-Edom to the City of David, celebrating extravagantly all the way, with frequent sacrifices of choice bulls. David, ceremonially dressed in priest’s linen, danced with great abandon before God. The whole country was with him as he accompanied the Chest of God with shouts and trumpet blasts.  —Samuel

Wild abandon, grabbing the blessing, extravagantly. Have you ever experienced that? Seriously?

Once you do, there’s no turning back.

David put it this way:

Oh yes, I’ll dance to God‘s glory—more recklessly even than this. And as far as I’m concerned…I’ll gladly look like a fool. —Samuel

One response to “Worship, as in, lost in

  1. Yes I have and when encompassed in a Spirit of Worship, praising Elohim, it is the most wonderful experience a person can have. It causes man to go to the ends of the earth to preach the Gospel, it causes folks to give up their freedom in favor of persecution for the Love of Jesus, and it changes lives.
    We were created to worship, this I believe. It sounds as though we have an egotistical God when saying that, but that’s not true. God created us because He wanted to be loved and when we discover that love we can do nothing but fall in awe of this thought and Worship the Most High, Father, Spirit, Son.
    It is also a very personal thing, real worship. It can be in a public place, at home, wherever, or as Smith Wigglesworth chose, head under an apple crate:) BUT it is still very personal and NO ONE has the right to say how an individual should express themselves in worship.
    David was the greatest example of abandoned Worship and had the gifting to put into words his experience.
    Seek FIRST the Kingdom of God……all Scripture is in if-then formula, and most point us towards whatever it takes to help us seek Him, Love Him, and Worship Him.
    I have seen and heard of so many wonderful things happening with the flags that the Lord uses my hands to make. Flag worship to Jehovah Nissi is one way to enter into true worship. I don’t understand why but feel humbled beyond measure when I hear of those whose lives have been changed through these bits of fabric that the Spirit chooses to use. 38 countries so far.
    And last but certainly not least, having had the privelage of standing at the gates of Heaven, surrounded by colors that are truly alive has kept me on the road of seeking true worship.
    Right now I am rediscovering and “old friend” of an albumn, Revival in Belfast. These songs make me want to dance, raise my hands, and then fall down and cover my head in true unadulterated worship.
    Have a fantastic, blessed day:)
    Psalm 100

Leave a Reply

