Dreaming the impossible dream (1 of 4)

Faith is far more than just thinking. It’s far more than just believing. Faith is action… Anytime Gods asks you to do the impossible, he’ll give you the power to do it. —Rick Warren

I’m in full agreement with Warren’s statement. He goes on to say:

Our nation needs recovery. We hear it everyday on television and in our communities. People desperately need healing from their hurts, hang-ups, and habits. Many of those people are sitting in our own churches. And there’s only one way people will find that kind of healing – Jesus.

It’s one of Jesus’ specialties. In fact, Jesus’ ministry could be divided into three equal thirds – teaching, preaching, and healing. Matthew 9:35 says, ”Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness.” Jesus doesn’t just care about our souls – and getting us to heaven – he cares about our minds, bodies, and emotions as well.

What I’ve experienced, and seen in others, is not the acceptance that what he is saying is true, rather, it is the implementation of it in my own life. I know that Jesus can give me the power to do the impossible; I know that he was a healer and that I have access to that very same power based on what both he and Paul said; I know that the salvation experience is only half about going to heaven and that the other half involves right here, right now.

What I struggle with is, where is it and how to I get it?

I think it comes down to a couple of things: venue, mentor and courage.

I want to explore these a bit, but I don’t want to bore you; so, I’ll treat them in individual posts.

5 responses to “Dreaming the impossible dream (1 of 4)

  1. Can’t wait to read the rest of these. You know we want the same thing. We NEED a dose of the impossible! Of course I also realize that that first dose is highly addictive…..

  2. patrickandchristy

    Jesus is tired of us giving this country and this world the nice, comfortable…tame Sunday School version of Him. He knows that until we recognize (believe), and then understand the Power and Authority we have access to that we are not going to begin to truly heal this hurt, lost and dying world nor build up a powerful and dangerous army of disciples that storm the gates of hell, constantly reminding satan of his place in the supernatural, spiritual realm….a loser, a nobody and a defeated enemy.

    I think God is really putting this word on his children’s hearts that are really listening. My post today talks about this also.

    http://www.patrickandchristy.wordpress.com

  3. WOW! Such power and confident faith are in those words Patrick! These are authentic days of whole new perspective and understanding of the Spirit of God for me and He is using folks like you to help guide me into it. Thanking God for you!

  4. patrickandchristy

    Thank you Eddie for your encouragement and also for your insights that you share with us, and how God is working in your life. God tells us that those who seek shall find. I think I’ve finally, over the past couple of years, realized what I should be seeking from God. Love you my brother.

  5. Pingback: “Mentor” is a strange word (3 of 4) « ru·mi·na·tions

Leave a Reply

