Changing my mind

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. — Romans 12:2

Why is it that we so often skim over things, especially things that are so potentially life transforming?

One of my favorite texts has always been Romans 12:1. I like the imagery. I would always say that it was Romans 12:1-2, but I would really mean verse 1. It is interesting that verse 2 has taken on a significantly greater importance in my day to day activity; it centers around this “way you think” concept.

Changed mind = knowing God’s will for you. How do you go about allowing this process to happen?

One response to “Changing my mind

  1. Can’t answer that question for everyone. In my own recent experience the changes come when I get out of the way…the answer seems to lie here:

    “Surely you desire truth in the inner parts;
    you teach me wisdom in the inmost place.” (Psalm 51:6)

    And here:

    “You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings.

    The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
    a broken and contrite heart,
    O God, you will not despise.” (Psalm 51:16-17)

    Oh how I wish I could work out my own changes. Only He can when I surrender and get the heck out of His way.

Leave a Reply

