God is love?

Anyone up to giving me a definition of what “God is love” means?

Please, no clichés.

8 responses to “God is love?

  1. patrickandchristy

    How can we define what we cannot comprehend? God’s love is pure, perfect, Holy, righteous, grace-filled, merciful and He gives it absolutely unconditionally. I am imperfect and will never be able to love God and this world as He does because of my flawed emotions. I can’t understand and define Perfection. An agenda, bias, assumption or prejudice will always attach itself to the love that I am capable of, regardless of how hard I try to cleanse them from my emotions, my life.

    Yes, the Holy Spirit lives within me, and He is the source of any love that I give to this world that remotely resembles God and His Son, Jesus but it will never reach a level that can do justice to me defining God’s love.

    This isn’t a definition but an example of “God is love”: the sacrificial death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, His only Son. I can’t fathom the Love required to offer a perfect and Holy Son to be crucified to allow an unworthy, sin-filled heathen to be forgiven so that I can now enter into a relationship with God Himself through Christ. If there’s a way to define this, then that’s it. That’s “God is Love.” But I believe there is no human mind that could ever fully comprehend the spiritual, supernatural love and divinity required to break the Old Covenant so we could enter into Christ’s New Covenant.

    Anyway, just a thought…..

  2. patrickandchristy

    Am I the only commenting on here anymore? Am I like a comment leper that people cannot comment around? LOL.

    • Nawh, you’re not a leper… no one gives a rat’s behind. Much more simple explanation. I should have known better than to post such a query.

  3. patrickandchristy

    Shame on you for making us actually think about and comtemplate the things of and ways of God. Don’t you have something better to do?!?

  4. patrickandchristy

    That’s it! Don’t try to define what we can’t understand, just show the world the examples that Christ can given us that point to God’s love. If someone is hungry, feed them. If they are in need of shelter, shelter them. If they are hurting, listen and point them to God.

    One day, God will reveal all of this to us but until then, just DO love to the best of our flawed ability and trust God to show us how to DO love when we fall short.

  5. Even before I received the sacrifice and was not made righteous by the Blood of Jesus. God loved me and made a way for such a wretched sinner to become his adopted son. He gave all for me that He might call me his own. God is Love and that is the opposite of selfish. May I not trample on his gift. He did this not only for me but He so loved the world, most of whom reject Him.

    • Hey Brian,

      Ok, I don’t disagree with what you said; but, you are making my point — you are using terminology that contains code language that only an insider will understand. The end result is that you don’t define anything. It is the equivalent of speaking to me in German; I know it means something, but I have no clue what.

      This is difficult to do. Yet, it is absolutely necessary if we want to be disciples. We have an absolute obligation to be able to tell those who don’t know what we have experienced what it is that we know. Otherwise all we are doing is contributing to word pollution.

  6. ubauna brazil, the children

Leave a Reply

