An unheralded value of a short-term mission trip

One of the major aspects of a short term mission trip is often overlooked. It is what happens to the individual who goes.

There are those for whom this value is negative. Negative in the sense that they begin to wear their experience like some sort of spiritual merit badge that gives them a greater claim to being “spiritual” than others who’ve never been. Negative in the sense that they come back with “a bad taste in the mouth” that translates into a spiritual superiority over those in the “foreign” country they visited. Negative in the sense that they are frightened by the power of the Enemy they’ve seen; they had no clue that he was real.

However, the majority I’ve been privileged to be associated with have had a positive metamorphosis.

They have become more active in their local church, their appreciation of the plight of people being consumed by sin increases and they become effective instruments in the church’s outreach into the community. Additionally, their personal faith begins to bloom in a way they never expected. They find that they have a greater and more intimate access to the Spirit. They begin to walk as though they really believe.

And that is priceless.

4 responses to “An unheralded value of a short-term mission trip

  1. Few things ever impacted my life as a Christ-follower and woke me up to the spiritual world outside the borders of the continental U.S. like my first trip to Kenya, Africa. I saw things while I was there that altered my thinking and my attitude for the rest of my life. And frankly, I saw, both an intensity level of spiritual warfare I could never have experienced from within western culture. I will always thank God for my two short term mission trips to Kenya, and I still pray for the churches I saw planted while we were there.

  2. Exactly! Thanks for illustrating my point.

  3. patrickandchristy

    Life-altering!!!! Without a doubt, we would not be spiritually where we’re at without our experiences in Brazil. We didn’t know what to expect but went with open minds and spirits to how God was going to work, and what He may show us. And boy, has he shown us things of the supernatural world. Before, some of these things were only read about in the Bible but it’s exhilarating when you first experience them first hand. You almost become addicted to the experiences, craving the realness of God.

    It also showed us who we are in Christ – we are servant warriors that have been equipped and given all the power, authority and spiritual weapons needed to put supernatural beat downs on satan and his dominions, regardless of geography. We had access to those all along but for us, it took Brazil and it’s rawness to reveal that to us. Anyway, I could go on and on so………

  4. I was on the trip last year and just since that trip, my life has changed in unimaginable ways. Without going into detail, I’ll just say that I agree with you Joe and I know you’ve seen the miraculous things in my life since that trip. It was made apparent to me just yesterday that ever since coming back from that trip to Ubauna, that not only was I put on a completely new spiritual level, but myself as an individual had come out of my shell, wanting more and more of Him and being less afraid of the unknown. I was one of those people afraid of the enemy, but now I know I have everything I need to fight any evil that comes my way. If I had not seen and experienced what I saw and experienced in Ubuana, I would never have believed to what extent Satan can have a hold of people and would never have learned that I have that same power that Jesus Christ had when He raised people from the dead. I am left wanting more and more. Although it was scary staring Satan in the face, it was enlightening to see Christ surround an entire village. I don’t have to pray a special prayer or light a special candle to call on Jesus. He is omnipresent… always there… just waiting for us to give Him permission to enter. This was my first mission trip out of the country and it was like no other mission I’ve been on. We were able to give hope to the hopeless, strength to the weak, and rest for the restless just by showing the love of Christ. By doing this, we were greatly rewarded for our efforts, beyond any earthly reward. Like Patrick said… I can go on and on…

    I’m so thankful for this experience and have been mega blessed this past year! I thank God for rewarding me in the ways he has. He truly does give us the desires of our hearts, which makes me want to be even more obedient to Him! Thank you Joe for doing what you do. You play a very important role and I pray that you never tire of doing such great things.

Leave a Reply

