Did I just call God “Dude?”

I woke up this morning and called God “Dude.”

Unbelievable.

I’m pretty freestyling when I talk to my Creator; I know he wants our conversation with him to be real.

But, “Dude?”

I’ve had a bucket load of stuff going on the last few days. When I woke up this morning, not knowing where I was but having a series of events immediately busting into my brain’s thought pattern, I said, “God, Dude, I’ve got to have you show up in a significant way today!”

“Dude?”

I’ve been hanging with and around folks in their twenties and thirties for the last two days. “Dude” is used as much as “and” and “the” in normal conversation. It had to have been that influence.

Right?

Oh, man…

(I’ll wager he is smiling a Mona Lisa smile!)

As they say, “no disrespect intended…”

3 responses to “Did I just call God “Dude?”

  1. Uh-huh…You need to be careful, or you may just lose your position in the “Senior Sunday School” group…..dude! LOL

  2. Paul Sonderman

    I think that as long as you’re talking, He’s listening and I don’t think he cares what you call Him (as long as it’s not in derision.) I am irreverent at times but feel that God understands. Sometimes I pray when I’m mad. Ever yell at God? If you have, I’d say your prayer is active. But “dude”? I’ve been much less respectful at times when praying. If he doesn’t know where you’re coming from, no one does. Just because He understands doesn’t me He won’t appreciate an apology.

    After all, we are His creation and His son went through a bit of trouble to find out what it’s like to be one of us.

    I enjoy your blog. Thanks for stopping by mine.

    • Hi Paul,

      Yeah, I don’t think he really cares what we call him; he’s far more concerned with the relationship. I just wish that more folks were concerned about calling him anything!

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

