Tired

There are days when you just want to run the white flag up the pole.

The last few days could easily be classified in the “bummer” category. So many people who are chronically ill and are grasping for any straw that might keep them afloat or offer even a crumb of hope. So many people who either don’t know of a greater Hope or, who claim to know it but don’t utilize it.

I actually had to yell at a fellow on the phone, a pastor no less. He was talking so mealy mouthed (“poor littl’ ol’ me…) that had I been physically present with him I would have probably hit him. Really!

I even told my queen that there had to be a better way to make a living.

Then I came across this tidbit:

He puts poor people on their feet again;
XXXhe rekindles burned-out lives with fresh hope,
Restoring dignity and respect to their lives—
XXXa place in the sun!
For the very structures of earth are God‘s;
XXXhe has laid out his operations on a firm foundation.
He protectively cares for his faithful friends, step by step,
XXXbut leaves the wicked to stumble in the dark.
No one makes it in this life by sheer muscle!
God‘s enemies will be blasted out of the sky,
XXXcrashed in a heap and burned.
God will set things right all over the earth,
XXXhe’ll give strength to his king,
XXXhe’ll set his anointed on top of the world!

Tired I am, but hope I have…

4 responses to “Tired

  1. 5 things:

    1. 2 Timothy 1:7 says what? 7For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power/strength, of love and of self-discipline.

    If you are feeling tired doing God’s work it’s not coming from God, but from somewhere else. You taught me that.

    2. Sometimes what we need is to be yelled at to clear the head from those we trust, and know when we are being yelled at, I prefer crawled all over, and that the one doing the crawling is not going anywhere. I believe it’s called trust.

    3. Ever seen a football coach constantly lovingly and calmly correct a player? I have, and they were not very good coaches.

    4. Also if you aren’t tired then you aren’t doing enough so get over it. 🙂

    5. Be glad your pastor friend called you and not the wrong person.

  2. Pingback: Twitted by joecarr

  3. Joe, thank you so much for your posts. though I’ve read more than just this one, this one is the one that made me realize just how much I need to cling to the word. I know one way in my life of being distracted is becoming numb to life. nothing exciting. nothing wonderful. nothing except maybe a lack of life. it gets depressing and the more I don’t realize that my heart has been disconnected one way or another, my world turns grey. slowly. life disappears. thank you for your words of encouragement and keeping them focused and centered on the creater of it all! I needed to read these things, now I just need to tie them around my neck.

Leave a Reply

