Now, explain why we’re still there?

I dare you to tell me what we’re still doing in Iraq. jeremy-iraq

…we lost our first guy on Easter. Two were injured. One, the guy I know and talked to just two days prior, lost both legs both arms and an eye the other got shrapnel in his face…

…because of some intel we have gotten, tomorrow’s mission is the first one I am worried about…

…there are suspected EFPs , explosively formed penetraters, on our route. Five of them. That is what killed and injured the guys on Easter. Those can go through tanks like a hot knife through butter.

That’s my son talking. My son…

Want my opinion?

21 responses to “Now, explain why we’re still there?

  1. Praying for your boy now.

  2. Praying brother! A group from Sside praying now. Jmac

  3. I will be praying for Jeremy like crazy starting now!!!!

  4. mike and loretta

    We are lifting you and your family up to God right now. Thoughts and prayers are with you.
    We got your back.

  5. Joe, my friend. Your son will be in my prayers until he returns to you. I pray that God shelters him in His protection. I will pray for you and your family too. Jeremy will be OK… Love you!

    • Dang, gang! Your support is overwhelming. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

      For all of you reading this, I’d also ask your prayers for the soldier who was so horribly mutilated in the attack. He and his family need our coverage.

      Jeremy is going to try to call me once safely back to his FOB. I’ll pass the word along. He’s 8 hours ahead of us so I’m hoping I get a word before noon on Wednesday.

  6. Joe, I can not begin to understand how hard it is for you to be so far and hear those words by Jeremy. We do know that Our God is bigger than we give Him credit for. He can go before us and calm the storm, and that is just what we ask for Jeremy at this time!

    • I was just telling a friend that you always want to protect your kids. But here is my son in a situation in which folks want to kill him, he’s 8 time zones away and I can’t even talk to him.

      The comfort of the Spirit is a powerful thing. I am so blessed.

  7. Joe, the Saints are active, and I am praying for Jeremy, and your family.

  8. Psalm 46:9-11
    9 He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
    he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
    he burns the shields with fire.

    10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

    11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.
    Selah

    Jeremy, you and Arimar and all of Jeremy’s comrades will be at the forefront of my prayers tonight and tomorrow. I will continue to pray…

  9. We will be praying for all of you and the troops too

  10. we will be praying for jeremy, joe. please keep us posted.

  11. Joe we just got the text and read the blog. You can be assured we’ll be on our knees in prayer asking God to send his angels to surround Jeremy and that group of guys. We’ll also be asking God’s peace that passes all understanding to hold you and Arimar securely. WE LOVE YOU GUYS!

  12. Hey Joe,
    I found that picture of Jeremy that I put on your Facebook. It was taken May 2006. He knew he needed prayer. He is being lifted up in prayer continually and so are you and Arimar!
    We love you,
    Audrey & Kelly

  13. Pray for Jeremy , you and your family now, and will continue to do so!

  14. Pingback: Batting .450 « ru·mi·na·tions

  15. Praying for your son, his group, and you and Arimar. Placing him in the Almighty’s hands for protection…

  16. Pingback: The red dot « ru·mi·na·tions

Leave a Reply

