He did it to me, again

Paul is really messing me up in 2 Corinthians.

Seriously.

Chapters three and four set me up. He caught me looking one way then, BAM!, he slapped me with chapter five. And, the funny thing is, he didn’t tell me anything new. He simply retold me what he’s told me before.

I think it was his feign to the left that didn’t let me see the sledgehammer coming from the right…

…God has given us this task of reconciling people to him. For God was in Christ, reconciling the world to himself, no longer counting people’s sins against them. And he gave us this wonderful message of reconciliation. So we are Christ’s ambassadors; God is making his appeal through us

Yeah, yeah, I know you’ve read it before. I dare you to stop reading and really think about it. In some circles that might be called meditation. So, go meditate on it and see what you come up with.

One response to “He did it to me, again

  1. 1ap·peal
    Pronunciation: \ə-ˈpēl\
    Function: noun
    Etymology: Middle English appel, from Anglo-French apel, from apeler
    Date: 13th century
    1: a legal proceeding by which a case is brought before a higher court for review of the decision of a lower court
    2: a criminal accusation
    3 a: an application (as to a recognized authority) for corroboration, vindication, or decision b: an earnest plea : entreaty c: an organized request for donations
    4: the power of arousing a sympathetic response : attraction

    Assuming the application of the third definition, how humbling is it that our God would condescend to earnestly plead for His own creation to believe in Him. Even more that He would allow us (followers of the Son) the privilege and the responsibility to extend that appeal on His behalf.

Leave a Reply

