Smoking what I’m not selling

At the hotel I stayed at this weekend I got something I didn’t want.

We stayed in an oceanfront facility on the nineteenth floor. Great view!

As evening came on, I realized that I was smelling something I hadn’t smelled in some time and it was quite strong. Some folks think it smells like burnt rope and call it funny names like “mary jane.” Yep, it was good ol’ pot. And it must have been a massive joint that was being toked!

It was coming from somewhere below us and it was billowing in. It actually irritated me; there was no way of discovering exactly where it was coming from nor any way to make it stop. Even worse, over the course of several hours, multiple joints were “consumed.”

My level of irritation rose until I realized I could do nothing about it. Then I ignored it.

It dawned on me that what we call Christianity must be like that to much of the world around us. It serves no practical purpose, though it holds the promise of doing so, and it irritates many who “smell” it. But, since they can do nothing about it, they ignore it (or us).

They are being exposed to second hand smoke and resent it.

It reminded me of this in 2 Corinthians:

In the Messiah, in Christ, God leads us from place to place in one perpetual victory parade. Through us, he brings knowledge of Christ. Everywhere we go, people breathe in the exquisite fragrance. Because of Christ, we give off a sweet scent rising to God, which is recognized by those on the way of salvation—an aroma redolent with life. But those on the way to destruction treat us more like the stench from a rotting corpse.

I don’t want to be putting out second hand smoke; I want to be smoking what I’m selling. An “exquisite fragrance” is much more appealing that a “rotting corpse.”

2 responses to “Smoking what I’m not selling

  1. puff puff pass? no… just pass it along until all know its fragrance.

    haha. that sounded odd.

  2. Revelation 8:4 The smoke of the incense, together with the prayers of the saints, went up before God from the angel’s hand.

    Hey! Maybe what you were smelling was somebody on the floor below you praying. OK….maybe not!

Leave a Reply

