Bind-Lock-Forbid?

I’m struggling with Matthew 16:19 and don’t want to accept, at least not by default, what I’ve always been taught. What has been my “accepted” understanding may not actually be what Jesus was saying. And, since I’m re-examining everything I thought I knew, and wasn’t making progress here, I’m hoping some of you may be able to help me out.

“I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.”

Any insight?

3 responses to “Bind-Lock-Forbid?

  1. Just because you are reexamining everything you thought you knew, doesn’t mean that what you first thought is wrong.

  2. You’re absolutely right! But it has to be mine; it can’t be something I accept just because someone told me it was so.

  3. Yeah, but also just because someone else came up with the idea does not mean you can’t accept it. I’ve never considered myself the sharpest knife in the drawer and if it doesn’t come from someone else or at least confirmed by someone else it’s a little suspect. Also if I don’t understand something after spending a lot of time wrestling with it, maybe God aint’ ready for me to understand it yet.

    By the way, I have an idea of what Jesus is talking about, I just don’t know what He means by it.

Leave a Reply

