Setting myself on fire

I sat with a group of men yesterday morning. We talked. We prayed. We burned…

John Wesley said: “I just set myself on fire and people come to watch me burn.” That was the sentiment wafting around the room yesterday. What do we have to do to set ourselves on fire? If God is about to move, what do we need to do to be present where he shows up?

Where is the gasoline stashed? Got any matches?

I came across this later in the day in Psalms 69:9: Passion for your house has consumed me…

Bingo!

Like fellow pyromaniacs, we discovered that fire attracts us, calls out to us. How do we fan the flames? I’m not talking your typical go-to-church-on-Sundays, read-the-Bible, say-a-little-prayer type of flame fanning. I’m looking for serious, burn-baby-burn, type of pyrotechnics.

Call me crazy, but I’m looking to get singed…

2 responses to “Setting myself on fire

  1. One of the profound ironies of my life has been for God to transform me from firefighter to firelighter. Who ever knew, having fought so hard to extinquish blazing structures for a career, how difficult it would be to ignite the holy flame of the Spirit and to keep it burning.

  2. Great post!

Leave a Reply

