Einstein: Bible Is ‘Primitive, Pretty Childish’

Gotta agree with the brainiac.

In a note that is being put up for auction, written the year before his death, Einstein dismissed the Bible as “pretty childish.”

His more complete musing was that “the word [of] God is for me nothing more than the expression and product of human weaknesses, the Bible a collection of honorable but still primitive legends which are nevertheless pretty childish.”

Now why would I agree with that?

Because of this.

Think it through before you knee jerk react…

3 responses to “Einstein: Bible Is ‘Primitive, Pretty Childish’

  1. Both God and His Word may appear to be as Einstein described them without the indwelling presence of the Holy Spirit to guide them to the truthor to be more accurate “Truth.”

    “…the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand [like a child]and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said. He will honor me; he will take from me and deliver it to you.”

  2. I love the way you challenge people to push in the clutch to pause them for a second before they engage the gears of their brain.

  3. patrickandchristy

    Joe, I read this article yesterday and was going to write about it next. Honestly, I find myself sometimes thinking, “This all sounds kinda crazy and nutty doesn’t it?” Sometimes when I tell people about some things going on in Brazil, I understand why they look at me with those “deer in the headlights” looks. But it is true and that’s what makes it so powerful and amazing…that God can work on a level that humans just can’t fully comprehend. The Bible and His Word is so full of power.

Leave a Reply

