Pardon me, your slip is showing

Had a conversation with a pastor the other day and I’ll have to admit that he caught me off guard.

It wasn’t the first time one of them has sneaked up on me from left field. I remember when what I thought was a good friend of mine viciously attacked me spiritually and morally and succeeded in throwing my whole life into a tailspin. On another occasion one decided to take me “to the wood shed” without having full details in hand. Yet again, one thought I had betrayed him when in reality I took proverbial arrows in the back that were meant for him. I suppose when you hang out with pastors you can’t help but
have them rub off on you.

My recent conversation revolved around yet another pastor who pastor number one was accusing of wrong-doing. When I asked if pastor number two asked for forgiveness from pastor number one would number one accept it. It was his response that caught me looking the wrong way: “I’d begrudgingly have to hold out forgiveness to him, but I will make sure that everyone in his congregation knows what a sinner he is!”

Whoa!

And we can’t seem to figure out why the world isn’t enamored with us.

…first Jesus and who he is; then Jesus and what he did—Jesus crucified… (1 Corinthians 2:2)

3 responses to “Pardon me, your slip is showing

  1. patrickandchristy

    It’s sad, frustrating and confusing about the current status of leadership we have in the Christian church.

    Everaldo recently told me about a professor at his previous seminary in Atlanta that told a class that Jesus was WRONG and INCORRECT when he was speaking of his return (the Second Coming) with the disciples. And we wonder?!?!?!

  2. Such a shame it isn’t only with the leadership; at least then we’d have an excuse.

  3. patrickandchristy

    True, true. There is a definite trickle-down effect.

Leave a Reply

