Disassociation

The parade of people I saw in my office today reinforced something in my mind.

I saw the sick, the despairing, the broken, the lonely, the frightened and the common denominator was the lostness. The disassociation with the eternal or what Paul calls the “heavenly realms” in Ephesians was so thick that you could cut it with a knife.

What was interesting was that many of them would call themselves “Christian.”

How do we reach out to them and show them there is a better way?

The last fellow I saw today was “possessed.” Wacky, right? I mean “possessed” in the spiritual sense, in the evil sense. No, I’m not tripping on some of the mushrooms we sell and I’m not goofy in the head. Believe me, I wish it weren’t so.

He was the “cherry on top” of a tough day; but, he perfectly summed up the parade that passed through my office today. He didn’t “get it.” His only reality is what he’s known for the last 5 years and it is too frightening to let go of what you know for that which you don’t know, even if it is something demonic.

I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of —John 10:10

Finding a way to make that real to the folks around us is absolutely essential…

Leave a Reply

