Groovin’ on a Sunday afternoon…

Manhattan Transfer (yeah, I’m dating myself again) had a song called Groovin’ on a manhattantransfer.jpgSunday Afternoon way back in the late 70’s. An easy, laidback tune, it’s chorus was simply: Groovin’ On a Sunday afternoon, Really, Couldn’t get away to soon. It gave you the sense of floating in a pool on an inflatable float.

For some reason, the song was on my mind yesterday afternoon and, even stranger, was locked in loop mode in my mind as I made my way back to Lifepoint for a second helping service (twice in one day) that was designed to celebrate what God’s been doing with the church.

This is the verse that kept looping:

I can’t imagine anything that’s better
The world is ours whenever we’re together
There ain’t a place I’d like to be instead
Yeh, just groovin’

I even commented to pastor Jeff right before the service began, “isn’t this cool?”

It was.

2 responses to “Groovin’ on a Sunday afternoon…

  1. Pingback: The beat goes on « G(i)FB(o)

  2. Old and Befuddled

    Ok, your recent blog about LifePoint church’s Sunday night service disturbs me. The blatant misrepresentation–is it intentional? The incorrect attribution of what occured that Sunday afternoon. Are you kidding me? Is nothing sacred? Is history nothing but a starting point for the revisionist mind? Let’s review what really happened….

    The Manhattan Transfer did not do “Groovin'” in the late ’70s. The Young Rascals originally did Groovin’ in 1967. TMT did Groovin’ on its 1995 CD entitled “Tonin'” with Felix Cavaliere of The Rascals (as they became known). Sacre Bleu.

    Either way, it’s a great song and I am still a Disturbed Person.

    Yestiddy was great. Thank you, God, for LifePoint.

Leave a Reply

