Getting their attention

Remember my meanderings on the temperature and time sign?

I made the mistake a few years ago of reading some of the works of a certain K. P. Yohannan, in particular, his Revolution in World Missions and Road to Reality profoundly affected me. I’ve given away almost 50 copies of Revolution in World Missions simply to expose folks to his “radical” approach to world missions. His Road to Reality is one of those books you do not want to read unless you are ready to swallow hard and look at your faith brutually in the mirror.

K.P. has been on my mind alot recently.

I’ve found myself asking the question: How do you become a person who attracts the unchurched? Isn’t that what it —being a Jesus follower— is all about? Everything else is secondary, or, at least when I read through the New Testament that is what I understand (yeah, I know I’m rather silly).

The answer is making me realize that I haven’t done much over the years to attract them. How do I change that?

I am fascinated by what Forefront is doing in a bar in Virginia Beach. They have taken a path that is guaranteed to upset the status quo and I sincerely feel that such an approach is sorely needed. Over 70% of the people who attend Forefront were formerly unchurched. Seventy percent! Try counting the folks in your church who were once “unchurched;” you might be sadly enlightened as to how few you have.

Hey, don’t look at me like I’ve got the answers! I’m stumbling through this on my own and can’t find a good instruction manual. When I read this today, I’ll admit it sucker punched me — that is what is supposed to happen!

How do I do it in my life?

This is way too long today. Sorry. If you read this far, I’ll keep it shorter. I’m absolutely intent on figuring this thing out, but will try to do so will fewer words.

I’m curious, anyone else wrestling with this?

7 responses to “Getting their attention

  1. joe, i read VA’s blog and about did a back flip! how amazing is that. yeah, how do we do that? that has NEVER happened to me.

  2. so yea, when u gona get me that new KP Book? lol

  3. patrickandchristy

    JJ, go to http://www.gospelforasia.com and you can order it for free. I have my copy and am currently reading it. God is really speaking to me through his book and his experiences. K.P. doesn’t sugar-coat and he is right on the money about reaching lost souls. We are using his approach in Brazil.

    Check out my site and read the posts I have concerning his book. It’s http://www.patrickandchristy.wordpress.com. It’s a series and I have written four so far. It’s entitled, God, The Great Commission and the United States. Feel free to comment.

    Believe me Joe, I’m struggling with this as well. I know I haven’t done what I needed, or should, do to win lost souls. But I’m praying daily that God will show me how to do better. He’s really been speaking to me through, The God Chasers by Tommy Tenney and K.P.’s book. I plan to read all of his books.

    Thank you for sharing and always being so transparent. It’s an inspiration to me and Christy.

    We’re giving a presentation very soon at Calvary and he may give us 30-45 mins. Any chance we can get you down? I’ll keep you posted.

  4. Patrick,

    You tell me when and I’ll move heaven and earth, well, maybe earth, to be there!🙂

  5. patrickandchristy

    Great. I’ll let you know as soon as he gets back with me. Sometimes he’s not very good at that. I probably wouldn’t be either if I were in his shoes though.

  6. Priorities. It’s all about priorities. Unfortunately, your perception of importance and his are not aligned. At this point you are the squeeky wheel and he probably wants to “oil” you so you’ll be quiet.

    This is the part I love! He thinks he’ll placate you and you’ll go away. But, he’s about to give you the keys to the storehouse and he doesn’t even realize it!🙂

    I’ll hopefully have our new video ready by then.

  7. patrickandchristy

    I get that impression sometimes also. If he thinks I’m going away then he hasn’t been paying attention the last 3 years but I don’t think he realizes what he’s getting ready to unleash. All we need is one presentation to the church. I’ll talk with him tomorrow and call you by Monday.

Leave a Reply

