Daily Archives: December 23, 2006

White rocks

I’ve been thinking, and reading . . .

I will give to each one a white stone, and on the stone will be engraved a new name that no one understands except the one who receives it.
–Revelation 2:17

This has been a rough month — shucks, it’s been a rough year, especially the last several months. When you’re getting beat up by life you tend to look at things in a “funny” way. That’s not a “hahaha” way, but an “oh crap” type of way.

Funny thing about getting beat up, it gives you a rather drab outlook on everything. Makes you want to kick dogs, let doors slam in people’s faces and be rude to everyone. You’ve got to fight those tendencies, but it sure does make your spirit not want to soar.

I’ve been camping out in 1 John the last week and it has helped tighten down some of the attitude adjustment screws. And that’s good.

But as I finished the John’s, I slipped into the Revelation and stumbled across the “white rock” passage. And that was the icing on the cake I needed. You see, no matter how messy things get, there’s someone who knows me in a way that no one else does. He’s given me a name that is uniquely mine and only he knows it. He won’t call me and have 3-4 other folks respond. I’m so special that he made me on purpose and he planned that millenium before I was even the proverbial twinkle in my parents’ eyes.

That rocks!